I’ve been planning to write this for a while and was hoping to hold out until closer to the actual kick-off, but I can’t stand it any more; I’ve got to get this off my chest.

My name is (Picture Me Rollin) and I have a problem. I am college football junkie.

My life is not complete without college football. I need it. I crave it.

As soon as one dose is finished, I am jonesing for the next fix. Seven days is too long between games. The break between the regular season and the bowl games gives me the shakes and I utterly go into a deep depression shortly after the championship game is over in January. I have been this way for as long as I can remember and it affects most every facet of my life. My career suffers for not being able to focus on the task-at-hand while daydreaming of touchdowns and interceptions and for the constant need for information that I require to get me through. My marriage suffers because of the funk that I go into after losses. My family life suffers for the amount of time I spend on the Quad on Fall Saturdays. My relationship with friends suffers because I “yeah”,”no”, and “get out” my way through phone conversations while reading a news story or study a depth chart instead of focusing on their needs. Even my spiritual life suffers; it’s easier to find a Mormon in my protestant church during the Fall than it is me. [True story: in response to my grandmother’s admonition that I should get as excited about my savior as I do about football I said, “maybe if Jesus was in a crimson jersey and sacked the Tennessee quarterback, I’d jump up and down about him too”. I’m sure I’ll answer for that one day.]

In spite of all the pratfalls and negative effects on my life and the lives of those around me I just can’t help myself. I need college football as much as the air that fills my lungs.

There are 45 days until kickoff – I’ll see you on the Quad!

Special Note: If anyone is aware of what became of the fine human being that used to author an email and later a blog called Reflections on Saturday, please leave a comment or email me at: picmerollin(at)gmail(dot)com. I really miss that guy’s brilliant work.

