As I mentioned in my last post, work has piled up and I’m in the process of digging out with the prospect of an Easter spent with my family as the carrot dangling in front of me. The stress is manifesting itself in many ways. As evidence I present to you an email exchange between commenter Marcus Aurelius (who also happens to be one of my very best friends and a co-conspirator in our crime ring tailgate) and myself last night, while we were both still at our respective offices.

It began thusly:

From: MA

To: PMR

Re: A-Day and Gridiron Bash Update

FYI on the upcoming A-Day thingy.

All I’ve got to say is Alan Jackson, bitch. Alan Jackson.

Seriously though, it might be big.

The text of the email was followed with an announcement from the Alabama Alumni Association about the Gridiron Bash. Lots of information about the events surrounding A-Day, including parking and tailgating instructions were included. If you are actually interested you can look here.

I responded:

From PMR:

To: MA

Re: A-Day and Gridiron Bash Update

A. Alan Jackson sucks big giant donkey c–k.

2. I am not tailgating on the quad (unless everybody else does)

About ten minutes later I got this response:

From : MA

To: PMR

Re: A-Day and Gridiron Bash Update

  1. No shit, c$$k-lick. That was sarcasm.
  2. (or 2.) I didn’t say ANYTHING about tailgating on the quad. I just remember someone bringing up people coming to his house on A-Day weekend and cooking out and then maybe going to the “game”. Sorry. Must have been some other d#&ckhead.

At this point I thought that maybe we were starting down a path we would both find regrettable when we weren’t working 16 hour days and so I replied:

From PMR:

To: MA

Re: A-Day and Gridiron Bash Update

Sorry dude. I wasn’t trying to be a smart-ass. I was trying to be funny – like I knew you were. You must be as stressed as I am? Seriously, if you ever made a statement to me about Alan Jackson that was emphatic enough to use the word “bitch” and it wasn’t a joke, I have to “bitch”-slap you to bring you back to your senses.

This morning when I logged in this was in my in-box:

 

From : MA

To: PMR

Re: A-Day and Gridiron Bash Update

I love you?

Disaster averted and friendship salvaged. Now all I have to do is uncover myself from the pile of shit that has found itself on top of me and I can actually think about enjoying A-Day.

Alan Jackson? That’s a whole other story.

 

