1. What are your expectations for the coming season?


I don’t want to sound like Negative Nancy here, but the odds point to an outcome that we are not going to be happy about. Anything less than running the table again would be, from this pre-season vantage point, a disappointment; I’m either going to leave the stadium or turn off the television after Alabama has lost a game this season. The thought of that just sucks. There certainly is the possibility that at the completion of the season the one or two inevitable losses will be alright in light of something else that happened – finishing as SEC Champion, punishing Auburn, a great non-championship bowl win – but it’s hard to predict that right now.

For the last three years we were looking for improvement. There are statisticians and tacticians out there that will say, as a team, Alabama can improve this year. I’m not an ician, I’m a fan and my logic says that there is nothing better than a championship. I believe that the odds are against that happening again this season and thus improvement is an impossibility. How do I live with myself everyday? I’m going to focus on enjoying the season for what it is, not what I want it to be.
2. What players to you most expect to stand out?

I’d like to see Julio, McElroy and Ingram stand out on offense. I’m not sure who, but there is also a defensive back that will be a household name by the end of the year.

3. What do you think will be biggest difference between this team and the 2009 squad?

That is a very tough question. The party line is a great offense and an improving defense for this season which was the opposite of last year. If I had to guess, recognizing that my expectations cloud my objectivity, I’m going to say that this team will show huge potential from young, unheralded (outside of recruiting services) talent.

You can view links to all Roundtable Participants here.

